Ireland women have qualified for the last eight of the Track Cycling World Championships in Berlin after setting a new team pursuit national record. 

Lara Gillespie, Mia Griffin, Kelly Murphy and Alice Sharpe took four seconds off the previous best, set in Minsk in October 2019.

The team came eighth in qualification in a time of 4:21.368 and will take part in Thursday's last eight.