Sam Bennett, Dan Martin and Eddie Dunbar will backbone Ireland in the elite men's road race at the UCI Road World Championships later this month.

National Road Race champion and multiple Vuelta a Espana stage winner Bennett been selected along with Dunbar, currently showing good form in the Tour of Britain, Dan Martin, Rory Townsend, Ryan Mullen and Conor Dunne.

Dunbar and Mullan will also compete in the elite men’s time trial. Mullan is a four-time national time-trial champion finished fourth at the European Games earlier this season, less than a second off the podium.

Kelly Murphy, who took 10th at the 2019 European Road Championships, will go in the elite women’s time trial as will 2016 European Individual Pursuit bronze medallist, Anna Turvey.

Current National Road Race champion Alice Sharpe represents Ireland in the elite women’s road race. Sharpe used Ireland's premier international stage race for women, Rás na mBan, as preparation for the 149.5km test.

"We’re going into the 2019 Road World Championships with one of the strongest teams of any nation and with a genuine opportunity to take on the race," said Cycling Ireland head coach Brian Nugent.

"It goes without saying, the Road World Championships is a major target for all our riders and the team is highly motivated. We are determined to put in a strong performance."

Ireland team for UCI Road World Championships (22-29 September)

Elite Men Road Race
Conor Dunne
Dan Martin
Eddie Dunbar
Sam Bennett
Rory Townsend
Ryan Mullen

Elite Men Time Trial
Eddie Dunbar
Ryan Mullen

Elite Women Road Race  
Alice Sharpe

Elite Women Time Trial
Anna Turvey
Kelly Murphy

U23 Men Road Race
Ben Healy

U23 Men Time Trial
Ben Healy
Michael O’Loughlin

Junior Men Road Race
Archie Ryan
Kevin McCambridge

Junior Men Time Trial
Finley Newmark
Kevin McCambridge

Junior Women Road Race  
Lara Gillespie
Lucy O’Donnell
Maeve Gallagher

Junior Women Time Trial
Lara Gillespie