Ben Healy produced a fine performance to finish 13th in the Men’s Junior Time Trial at the World Road Championships in Wattens near Innsbruck today.

Healy, the reigning Irish Junior Time Trial champion, was second of the four Irish riders in competition on the day and showed his developing class as he put 58 riders behind him in recording a time of 36m04.28s, some 2m49.04s behind race winner Remco Evenepoel of Belgium.

Racing his first world championships, Healy rode consistently throughout the 27.7km hilly course to record 14th fastest time at the intermediate split at 18.1km and he carried that momentum through to set 14th fastest time at the finish line. 

Healy was promoted one spot to 13th after a time penalty was imposed on another rider, ending the day just 16.19s from the top ten finish he had targeted.

"Yeah, it was pretty good, really," he said afterwards. "I wanted to break into the top ten so I’m a bit disappointed with the result but I left it all out on the course."

Meanwhile Aaron Doherty was 46th of the 71 riders in a time of 37m54.07s. The Mayo native was riding in his first world championships.

Kelly Murphy finished 33rd in the Women’s Elite Time Trial.

The reigning Irish Time Trial champion recorded a time of 38m44.36s to finish the 27.7km test 4m19s adrift of double World Time Trial Champion Annamiek Van Vleuten of the Netherlands.

Eileen Burns had raced to 41st in the Women’s Elite Time Trial, within one place of her position in last year’s world championships. 

SCHEDULE (Irish Times):


1.10pm Elite Men’s TT

Nicolas Roche

Ryan Mullen 


8.10am Junior Women’s RR

Lara Gillespie 

Maeve Gallagher

1.40pm Junior Men’s RR

Aaron Doherty

Ben Healy

Breandán Flannagan 

Archie Ryan 


11.10am U23 Men’s RR

Eddie Dunbar

Michael O’Loughlin

Matt TeggartDaire Feeley

Darragh O'Mahony 


11.10am Elite Women’s RR

 Alice Sharpe 


8.40am Elite Men’s RR

Dan Martin

Nico Roche

Conor Dunne

Ryan Mullen