Lara Gillespie kicked off Ireland's UCI Road World Championships today as the Wicklow teen finished 19th in the Junior Time Trial in Innsbruck.

Gillespie won gold at the European Junior Championships in August and holds 11 national titles across track, road and cyclocross.

Her time trial began in the Hall Wattens region, finishing - after a hilly 20km - at Swarovski Crystal. The 17-year-old completed the course in 28:15.49.

Rosemarijn Ammerlaan of the Netherlands took the title in 27:02.95.

The Irish have 19 riders in Austria competing across ten events.

Conn McDunphy and Michael McLoughlin are up this afternoon in the Men’s Under-23 time trial. 

On Wednesday, Nicolas Roche and Ryan Mullen will fly the flag in the Men’s Elite Time Trial over a tough 52.5km course including the Gladenwald climb.

Eddie Dunbar - newly signed to Team Sky -  Michael O’Loughlin, Matt Teggart, Daire Feeley and  Darragh O’Mahony compete in the Men’s Under 23 Road Race over a mountainous 179.9km course on Friday. 

The Championship concludes next Sunday with the 258.5km Men’s Road Race Championships. Conor Dunne, Dan Martin, Mullen and Roche will all be at the start line.


Monday 24 September
RES Junior Women’s TT - 
Lara Gillespie, 19th (28:15.49)

1.40pm, U23 Men’s TT - Conn McDunphy, Michael O'Loughlin 

Tuesday 25 September
9.10am, Junior Men’s TT -
Aaron Doherty, Ben Healy 

1.40pm Elite Women’s TT - Eileen Burns, Kelly Murphy 

Wednesday 26 September 
1.10pm Elite Men’s TT -
Nicolas Roche, Ryan Mullen 

Thursday 27 September
8.10am, Junior Women’s RR -
Lara Gillespie, Maeve Gallagher

1.40pm Junior Men’s RR - Aaron Doherty, Ben Healy, Breandán Flannagan,  Archie Ryan 

Friday 28 September
11.10am, U23 Men’s RR -
Eddie Dunbar, Michael O’Loughlin, Matt Teggart, Daire Feeley, Darragh O'Mahony 

Saturday 29 September
11.10am, Elite Women’s RR -
Alice Sharpe 

Sunday 30 September
8.40am, Elite Men’s RR -
Dan Martin, Nicolas Roche, Conor Dunne, Ryan Mullen