Irish riders Ryan Mullen and Jack Wilson have been selected as part of a six-man An Post Chain Reaction Sean Kelly team for the Tour of Britain from Sunday 7 September in Liverpool, England.

With the tour having gone up in race classifications this year to a 2.HC, the peloton will be packed with some of the best riders and teams in the world including last year’s winner Bradley Wiggins, who once again leads the line for Team Sky.

The remaining line-up for the An Post team will include British duo Mark McNally and Owain Doull, Australian Glenn O’Shea and Kiwi rider Shane Archbold.

A gruelling eight days of hard racing lies ahead of the riders with an eight kilometre Individual Time Trial also scheduled on the morning of the final stage in London.

The An Post team have been renowned for their attacking style of racing in previous years and last year’s edition saw Waterford native Sam Bennett claim a magnificent fifth stage victory and two second place finishes.

Team manager Kurt Bogaerts says the riders will adopt the same aggressive approach to the race and believes the team have the talent to emulate Bennett’s success.

Bogaerts said: “We will ride aggressive as always. It’s the team’s philosophy to be aggressive and attack. Every stage is there to win and we want to always be in contention.

“We have guys in good form at the moment. Ryan will take great experience from this and will take his form in to the World Championships in a few weeks’ time.

“He will no doubt pose a big threat on the Individual Time Trial as well. Jack showed us in France how good of a rider he is, taking the second place on the stage in Kreiz Breiz and consistently finishing in the top ten. We have a lot of talent in this team so I am looking forward to Sunday.”