Donegal rider Philip Deignan has been named in Team Sky's provisional squad for the Giro d'Italia, which begins in Belfast on 9 May.

The former Olympian and Grand Tour stage winner will be joined on the team by Peter Kennaugh, Dario Cataldo, Kanstantsin Siutsou, Ben Swift and Edvald Boasson Hagen.

Birmingham-born Irishman Dan Martin is in the Garmin-Sharp team, which is led by 2012 winner Ryder Hesjedal, while his cousin Nicolas Roche is the leader of the Tinkoff-Saxo team.

Vicenzo Nibali is the defending champion, but is absent to focus on the Tour de France, leaving 2013 Tour runner-up Nairo Quintana one of the favourites for the race which concludes in Trieste on 1 June.