Norway's Alexander Kristoff won the fifth stage of the Tour de Suisse with a sprint finish into Leuggern today.

The Katusha rider was 300 metres from the line when Cannondale's Peter Sagan, who won stage three, launched an attack alongside yesterday's winner Arnaud Demare (FDJ).

Kristoff had been riding on the wheel of Matti Breschel (Saxo-Tinkoff) but he promptly shook off his challengers to pedal hard to the finish.

Ireland’s Nicolas Roche (Team Saxo-Tinkoff) finished in 27th, while compatriot Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp) finished in 57 in the same time as the winner.

Martin is just one minute and 23 seconds behind the winner in sixth the general classification, while Roche is in 19th place overall.

BMC Racing's Mathias Frank keeps the yellow jersey and holds a 23-second advantage over Roman Kreuziger (Saxo-Tinkoff), with Movistar's Rui Costa a further 12 seconds behind in the overall standings.

The race left Buochs this morning with Sebastien Minard (Ag2r), Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-QuickStep), Stijn Devolder (RadioShack-Leopard) and Cyril Lemoine (Sojasun) escaping at an early stage, only for the foursome to be caught by the peloton with 25 kilometres to go.

Euskaltel's Jorge Azanza attacked on the Zurzacherberg ascent but BMC soon wound up the pace on the descent to protect Frank's lead.

An earlier crash saw Italian Giovanni Visconti of Movistar, who started the day fourth in the general classificiation, withdraw from the race due to concussion.

Tomorrow's sixth stage comprises a 176km trek between Leuggern and Meilen and features two steep climbs ahead of a flat run to the finish.

Leading positions after Stage 5 (Buochs - Leuggern, 176.4km):

1 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha 4hrs 08mins 29secs

2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale Pro Cycling at same time

3 Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ at same time

4 Matti Breschel (Den) Team Saxo-Tinkoff at same time

5 Heinrich Haussler (Aus) IAM Cycling at same time

6 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge at same time

7 Davide Cimolai (Ita) Lampre-Merida at same time

8 Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Astana Pro Team at same time

9 Boy van Poppel (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team at same time

10 Daryl Impey (Rsa) Orica-GreenEdge at same time

General classification after Stage 5:

1 Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Racing Team 15hrs 56mins 30secs

2 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Team Saxo-Tinkoff at 0.23secs

3 Rui Alberto Faria da Costa (Por) Movistar Team at 0.35

4 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ at 0.57

5 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team at 1min 08secs

6 Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Sharp at 1.23

7 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team at 1.26

8 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale at 1.28

9 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team at 1.39

10 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge at 1.42