Ireland’s Nicolas Roche (Saxo Tinkoff) and Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp) maintained their positions in the general classification at the Tour de Suisse as Frenchman Arnaud Demare won the stage four sprint.

The FDJ rider narrowly beat Australian Matt Goss of Orica-GreenEdge to the finish line in the closing moments of the 161km race from Innertkirchen to Buochs.

Garmin-Sharp's American sprinter Tyler Farrar rounded out the top three, with John Degenkolb (Argos-Shimano) and Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) in at four and five respectively.

Roche finished in 62nd, with Martin back in 82nd place.

There was no alteration to the top of the overall classification following the sprint finish, with Switzerland's Matthias Frank remaining in top spot for BMC Racing with a safe mid-ranking finish.

Saxo-Tinkoff's Roman Kreuziger shaved a couple of seconds off Frank's lead and now sits 23 seconds back, with Movistar's Rui Costa 35secs off the lead.

Tomorrow sees the riders take on the hills of Buochs to Leuggern in a 176km stage.

Leading positions after Stage 4 (Innertkirchen - Buochs, 161km):

1 Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ 4hrs 08mins 23secs

2 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge

3 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp

4 John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano

5 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha

6 Heinrich Haussler (Aus) IAM Cycling

7 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale Pro Cycling

8 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Belisol

9 Davide Cimolai (Ita) Lampre-Merida

10 Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Astana Pro Team

General classification after Stage 4:

1 Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Racing Team 11hrs 48mins 01sec

2 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Team Saxo-Tinkoff at 0.23secs

3 Rui Alberto Faria da Costa (Por) Movistar Team at 0.35

4 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team at 0.53

5 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ at 0.57

6 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team at 1min 08secs

7 Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Sharp at 1.23

8 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team at 1.26

9 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale at 1.28

10 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team at 1.39