The Canadian national team have been confirmed for the 2013 An Post Rás, which begins on 19 May.

Cycling Canada development coach and team manager Luc Arseneau said: “We are really looking forward to participating in the As Post Rás for the first time.

"We’ve heard good things about the event, and we are confident it will fit our riders well.”

While the final selection will be determined closer to the event, Arseneau has narrowed down the list of potential riders.

That list includes Stuart Wight, the winner of the 2010 Irish international Junior Tour, Canadian national track team rider Rémi Pelletier-Roy, 2012 Tour de Banff winner Kristofer Dahl, former under 23 Canadian criterium champion Garrett McLeod, national individual pursuit record holder Alex Cataford plus the 2011 Tour de l’Avenir runner-up David Boily.

“The main objective of Cycling Canada this summer will be to turn the page on 2012 Games and look forward to a long term development path as well as to align our road program with our track one,” Arseneau explained. “For the An Post Rás, we will be aligning a good young team for our first time at this great event.

“Our riders will be riding for their respective teams before the selection is completed. Some could also come from our U23 squad who will be shortly heading to Europe to compete in the U23 Nation Cup (Flanders, Côte Picarde) as well as the U23 Liège-Bastogne-Liège. Others will be preparing using the America Tour calendar.”

Canada has developed well in recent years as a force in world cycling. Last year Ryder Hesjedal became the first ever rider from that country to win the prestigious Giro d’Italia, cycling’s second-biggest stage race.

The 2013 An Post Rás will begin in Dunboyne on Sunday 19 May, the fourth consecutive year it has started there. It will then move counter-clockwise around the country, and include stage finishes in Longford, Nenagh, Listowel, Killarney, Glengarriff, Mitchelstown, Carlow and Naas, before concluding on Sunday 26 May with the customary finale in Skerries, North County Dublin.