Laura Delany will captain a 15-player Ireland squad for their Women's T20 World Cup qualifiers next month.

Ireland could potentially play five games in an eight-day period in the United Arab Emirates as they bid to qualify for next year’s World Cup in South Africa.

Ed Joyce’s side will face Bangladesh, USA and Scotland in Group A, with the two top teams progressing to the semi-finals.

Ireland will fly to Dubai on 10 September following their three-match series against Scotland and play a warm-up game against Papua New Guinea on 13 September.

Carrie Archer, chair of National Women’s Selectors, said: "We have had a busy few months of white-ball cricket, playing South Africa, Australia, Pakistan, Netherlands and Scotland coming up shortly – and while each series has held its own importance, the programme has been building towards this qualifier.

"As a squad, we want to be competing on the highest stage possible, and the T20 World Cup in South Africa is one such occasion that we want to qualify for.

"We last featured in a white-ball World Cup in November 2018, and so much has changed and progressed in the subsequent years that we feel we are in a far better place today."

Ireland face Bangladesh in their opening match in Abu Dhabi on 18 September before playing the USA the following day.

Their final group match is against Scotland on 21 September, with the semi-finals taking place on 23 and 25 September respectively.

Ireland squad: Laura Delany (c), Rachel Delaney, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Shauna Kavanagh, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Eimear Richardson, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron