Cricket Ireland has selected a provisional squad of 18 players that will travel to the ICC T20 World Cup in October.

The squad will be reduced to 15 core players, plus three travelling reserves in early October, in line with ICC tournament registration dates.

Ireland will begin their campaign with a vital encounter against the Netherlands on 18 October in Abu Dhabi.

Graham Ford's side have been drawn in Group A in the first round, where they will then face Sri Lanka on 20 October, also in Abu Dhabi, before ending with a clash against Namibia in Sharjar on 22 October.

Ireland will be hoping to secure a top-two finish in their group, which would see them progress to the Super 12s stage of the tournament.

Should Ireland win the group they will join England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies and the Group B runners-up in Group 1 of the Super 12s, while a second-place finish would place them alongside India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the Group B winners.

The tournament's semi-finals will be held in Abu Dhabi on 10 November and Dubai on 11 November, with the final scheduled in the latter city on 14 November.

Ireland squad: Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Graham Kennedy, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.