Five players could make their debuts when Ireland play their first women's international in almost 21 months at the end of May.

Cricket Ireland today announced a 15-player squad for the upcoming international series against Scotland at Stormont, which will comprise four T20 Internationals played between 23-27 of this month.

A planned five-game series against the Scots in March would have been the team's first fixtures since beating Papua New Guinea in early September 2019, but that was scrapped due to Covid travel restrictions.

Laura Delany will captain the young side (average age 20) after returning from injury, while Ava Canning, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Jane Maguire and Jenny Sparrow could all make their senior bows.

Cara Murray and Rachel Delaney also make their return after both played their last internationals in June 2018.

The games will serve as preparation for the European T20 World Cup qualifiers in Scotland in August.

Head coach Ed Joyce said: "We'll be going into the Scotland series off the back of a solid build-up in training and a competitive Super Series to date.

"It’s great to see players being rewarded for their performances in the Super Series - it goes to show all players that there is a defined pathway to international cricket and that performances are being recognised with higher honours.

"There is no doubt that international cricket is yet another step up for the players, but I know that all of those selected are desperate to get out there and show what they can do on the world stage."

Ireland and Scotland have met 14 times in women’s T20Is, with Ireland winning on 11 occasions, Scotland twice and one no result. The two sides met twice in 2019, with one win apiece.

No spectators are currently permitted at games in Northern Ireland under government restrictions but the matches will be livestreamed and livescored via the Cricket Ireland match centre.

Ireland: Laura Delany (capt), Ava Canning, Rachel Delaney, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Shauna Kavanagh, Gaby Lewis, Jane Maguire, Lara Maritz, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Celeste Raack, Jenny Sparrow, Rebecca Stokell.