Twelve home one-day internationals against South Africa and Zimbabwe and a three-game series against the Netherlands have been pencilled in for the Irish men's side in the months ahead.

The 12 white-ball fixtures are to be played across three Irish venues, with Clontarf – Ireland's fourth international venue – still unavailable in 2021.

The games against the Dutch in June will form part of the World Series Cricket league and are World Cup qualifiers as are the three ODI against Zimbabwe and South Africa in July and August respectively.

A further two-match T20 International series against Pakistan is still in discussion with the Pakistan Cricket Board and England & Wales Cricket Board, with an announcement to be made in due course for the games due to be played in England. 


  • 4 June: Netherlands v Ireland, 1st ODI
  • 7 June: Netherlands v Ireland, 2nd ODI
  • 9 June: Netherlands v Ireland, 3rd ODI

Ireland v South Africa series 

  • 11 July: Ireland v South Africa, 1st ODI (Malahide)*
  • 13 July: Ireland v South Africa, 2nd ODI (Malahide)*
  • 16 July: Ireland v South Africa, 3rd ODI (Malahide)*
  • 20 July: Ireland v South Africa, 1st T20I (Malahide)
  • 22 July: Ireland v South Africa, 2nd T20I (Stormont)
  • 25 July: Ireland v South Africa, 3rd T20I (Stormont)

Ireland v Zimbabwe series 

  • 6 August: Ireland v Zimbabwe, 1st ODI (Stormont)*
  • 8 August: Ireland v Zimbabwe, 2nd ODI (Stormont)*
  • 11 August: Ireland v Zimbabwe, 3rd ODI (Stormont)*
  • 15 August: Ireland v Zimbabwe, 1st T20I (Bready)
  • 17 August: Ireland v Zimbabwe, 2nd T20I (Bready)
  • 20 August: Ireland v Zimbabwe, 3rd T20I (Bready) 

    * Matches form part of the ICC World Cup Super League

Meanwhile Cricket Ireland has unveiled new structures for the men's domestic Inter-Provincial Series and the Womens Super Series competition for 2021. 

The Munster Reds, who have only been playing in the domestic T20 competition, will now be the fourth men's team in the 50-over cup competition along with the creation of new performance coaching hubs, a revised squad selection process and a new emerging team competition. 

Ireland must have a first-class cricket structure in place due to their ICC first class and test status

The new structure includes the four teams of North West Warriors, Northern Knights, Leinster Lightning and now the Munster Reds joining in both formats, competing in the two white-ball competitions T20 and 50 overs. 

Cricket Ireland is dispensing with the three-day game format for the moment, prioritising white ball cricket due to there being three white ball World Cups over the next three years. 

The governing body say that they are exploring ways to reintroduce the three-day Inter-Provincial championship when both the pandemic and consequential financial situation permits. 

The new men's Inter-Provincial Series for 2021 is set to begin in early May and end in September with the dates and fixture lists released in due course and the four squads will be selected later this month, with training set to begin shortly after. 

The Women's Super Series has been reduced to two teams, the Typhoons and the Scorchers, and will also be split into two separate competitions – a 50-over Cup and a T20 Trophy competition – moving away from the previous multi-format, hybrid competition structure. 

The new Super Series for this year is set to begin in late April and end in August. Venues will be released in coming weeks and the two squads will be selected this month, with training to commence in March. 

"Given the success of last year’s two-team competition, and the likelihood that there may be no overseas players coming to Ireland to play club cricket this year, we have endorsed a continuation of the two-team format for 2021," said Richard Holdsworth, Cricket Irelands High Performance director.

"The other consideration for the fixtures is that we have two short windows ahead of both world cup qualifiers to fit as many matches in as we can, so the competition start date this year will be brought forward to 25 April, with squad coaching to begin in March."

The ICC 50-over Women's World Cup qualifier is scheduled to be held in Sri Lanka (22 June – 11 July) while the T20 World Cup European qualifier will take place in Scotland (24 – 31 August). 

The confirmed dates of the Women's Super Series in 2021 are: 

Super 50 Cup 

25 April, 2 May, 3 May, 9 May, 16 May, 23 May, 30 May, 6 June.

Super 20 Trophy

25 July, 1 August, 8 August, 15 August.