Cricket Ireland named a 21-man expanded squad that will travel to Southampton for a training camp ahead of the three-match men's World Cup Super League One Day International series against England starting later this month.

To comply with Covid-19 protocols and public health directives, the squad will depart Dublin on a special charter flight to Southampton, before being transported in bio-secure buses to a hotel within the grounds of the Ageas Bowl where they will stay until their departure on 5 August.

Mark Adair has recovered from an ankle injury to take his place in the squad, however, "David Delany was not considered for selection as a result of his previous surgery, and the subsequent extended lockdown period, we were not fully confident that he has had the time to complete the necessary amount of preparation in order to safely play in these matches," said Chair of National Men's Selectors, Andrew White.

Following the training sessions and two warm-up matches as part of the tour schedule, selectors will then name a final 14-man squad for the series. The remaining seven players will stay on as cover, given the protocols around the bio-secure venue and playing conditions.

"This lack of on-field action since March – and the short lead-in programme to the ODI series - influenced our thinking on the broader squad, however, the unique circumstances of the situation has allowed us to involve more players than we would normally bring on such a tour," added White.

"The squad selected covers all eventualities - we have picked players that are in obvious contention to play, but also players that will help our batters prepare for the type of opposition we'll be facing."

"We also felt that the form shown by several players in the Caribbean in January, Wolves tour in February and the Afghan series in March really bolstered their case for selection."

Ireland squad

Andrew Balbirnie (capt), Paul Stirling (vc), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Peter Chase, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Jonathan Garth, Tyrone Kane, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, James McCollum, Kevin O'Brien, William Porterfield, Boyd Rankin, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Gary Wilson, Craig Young.

The tour schedule

18 July: Squad departs from Dublin for ODI Training Camp

22 July: Practice match

26 July: Ireland v England Lions (warm-up match)

30 July: 1st ODI v England (day/night, starts 2pm)

1 August: 2nd ODI v England (day/night, starts 2pm)

4 August: 3rd ODI v England (day/night, starts 2pm)

5 August: Squads returns to Dublin