Kevin O'Brien will skipper Ireland in their three-match ODI series against Scotland in Malahide next month.

O'Brien is one of four changes to the squad that lost to Sri Lanka A last month, along with George Dockrell, Max Sorensen and John Mooney.

The Railway Union all-rounder has recently returned to Ireland from the CPL, where he played an integral role in helping T&T Red Steel reach the semi-finals.

"The focus now for the squad is very much geared towards World Cup preparation, and these three matches against Scotland are an important part of that," said O'Brien.

"There are still places up for grabs and everyone's working really hard to make sure they're part of what's sure to be a fantastic event.

"Scotland are ever improving over the last few years, and have a vibrant young squad mixed in with some experienced players, like Majid Haq and Richie Berrington.

“Like ourselves, they will be keen to use these games as preparation for the World Cup, but most importantly we both will be looking to win, so I expect these games to be tough and closely contested.”

Durham wicket-keeper Stuart Poynter retains his place following a superb century against Sri Lanka A, while Gloucestershire seamer Graeme McCarter, Somerset left-arm spinner George Dockrell and Middlesex all-rounder Andrew Balbirnie are also included.

"Scotland are ever improving over the last few years, and have a vibrant young squad"

Tickets for the series are available on and at TicketMaster outlets nationwide

Ireland will embark on a month long tour of Australia and New Zealand (leaving 23 September) where they will play eight games - four in each country.

An 18-man squad will be announced following the conclusion of the Scotland series.

Ireland squad: Kevin O’Brien (capt) (Railway Union), John Anderson (Merrion), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), George Dockrell (Somerset), John Mooney (North County), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Gloucestershire), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Stuart Poynter (Durham), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Andrew White (Instonians), Craig Young (Bready).


Ireland v Scotland – Monday, 8 September
Ireland v Scotland – Wednesday, 10 September
Ireland v Scotland – Friday, 12 September