William Porterfield led from the front, scoring an unbeaten 75, as Ireland defeated the Netherlands by six wickets with two balls to spare in the desert heat of Abu Dhabi in a Twenty20 World Cup warm-up match.

With seven needed from the final over, Porterfield struck Ahsan Malik's first delivery deep over the midwicket boundary to tie the scores, and then sealed the win with a punch down the ground to the ropes.

His chanceless unbeaten 75 came from just 58 deliveries and contained seven fours and two sixes.

Porterfield had lost opening partner Paul Stirling (0) in the first over as they set about chasing their victory target of 140.

Niall O'Brien joined Porterfield, and the pair added a fluent 70, before the Leicestershire left-hander was deceived by a Malik slower ball, having made 34 from 32 balls.

Kevin O'Brien struck two boundaries in a brisk 13, while Gary Wilson made a run on ball 19 as Ireland were always in control of the run chase.

Earlier Alex Cusack (2-14) had starred with the ball as the Irish restricted the Dutch to 139 for 5 - slightly below par on an easy paced pitch and lightning fast outfield.

Wesley Barresi top scored with a composed 50 from 46 balls (4 fours), sharing an opening stand of 42 with Stephan Myburgh (22), before Max Sorensen (2-31) had the left hander caught at mid-off by Niall O'Brien.

Eric Szwarcynski (14) and Daan van Bunge (1) went in quick succession but Ben Cooper joined Barresi and the pair batted fluently in adding 62 in just 49 balls.

Cooper, younger brother of South Australian player Tom, looked in fine touch as he scored an unbeaten 42 from just 29 balls, which included two huge sixes.

The Irish fielded with their usual determination, which backed up a disciplined bowling display, which meant the Netherlands were always on the back foot.

Ireland's final warm up game sees them travel to Dubai tomorrow where they take on Papua New Guinea. Their first match in the tournament proper sees them face a dangerous Namibian side back in Abu Dhabi.

ICC World T20 warm-up at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi: Ireland beat The Netherlands by 6 wickets.
Ireland 143-4 (19.4 overs, W Porterfield 75*, N O'Brien 34, G Wilson 19, Mudassar Bukhari 2-25) beat the Netherlands 139/5 (20 overs, W Barresi 50, B Cooper 42*, S Myburgh 22, A Cusack 2-14, M Sorensen 2-31, G Dockrell 1-25) by six wickets.