Ireland have been drawn in the same group as defending world champions India for the 2015 Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

South Africa, Pakistan, the West Indies, Zimbabwe and one other qualifier will compete with Ireland in Pool B.

Ireland will begin their campaign on the third day of the 14-team tournament against the West Indies on 16 February in Nelson.

Pool A consists of England, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and two other qualifying nations.

Adelaide, Auckland, Brisbane, Canberra, Christchurch, Dunedin, Napier, Nelson, Hamilton, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Wellington were confirmed as host cities at today's official launch.

ICC chief executive David Richardson said: "The ICC Cricket World Cup is the flagship tournament of the 50-over game.

"The 2015 tournament will mark 40 years since the first World Cup in 1975 and that history of great contests and heroes helps make the tournament what it is - the most sought after prize in our increasingly global game.

"The World Cup will be returning to Australia and New Zealand after 23 years and will be staged at the back of two outstanding 50-over ICC events - the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013.

"I'm absolutely confident that the success of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will further strengthen the status of 50-over cricket as a successful and viable format alongside Tests and Twenty20 Internationals."

Australia Prime Minister Kevin Rudd added: "This is one of the biggest events in world sport.

"It will attract cricket fans from around the globe and also promote Australia and our close friend New Zealand internationally - especially in India and other parts of south Asia."

Holders India will launch their defence against rivals Pakistan in Adelaide on 15 February.

Ticket prices for the tournament are not due to be announced until later in the year.

Ireland’s 2015 Cricket World Cup Pool B Schedule

Monday 16 February
Ireland v West Indies, Nelson, New Zealand

Wednesday 25 February
Ireland v Qualifier, Brisbane, Australia

Tuesday 3 March
Ireland v South Africa, Canberra, Australia

Saturday 7 March
Ireland v Zimbabwe, Hobart, Australia

Monday 9 March
Ireland v India, Hamilton, New Zealand

Sunday 15 March
Ireland v Pakistan, Adelaide, Australia