All-rounder John Mooney has been left out of the Ireland squad for the ICC World Twenty20 finals in Sri Lanka after failing to recover from a finger injury.

The 30-year-old fractured his finger and also suffered tendon damage during club action for North County.

Ireland coach Phil Simmons admitted the left-handed batsman will be a major blow to both the player and the squad.

"It's disappointing for both John (Mooney) and the team," said Simmons.

Simmons added: “He's been a major part of the team for the last three or four years and it's disappointing we have to go without him.

But Simmons added that one’s man misery is another man’s opportunity and that Mooney’s absence will give others a chance to stake their claim for a regular place in the side.

"He's suffered two finger injuries and this latest one won't heal in time for the start of the tournament" - Phil Simmons

"This will give others other an opportunity to push for his place and stake a claim.

"We have guys who can come in and fill the spot and if selected can hopefully fill the role of John Mooney."

The man to have benefited most directly is Limavady all-rounder Stuart Thompson, and the coach has challenged the recently-turned 21-year-old to make the most of his good fortune.

"He's done well at A team level and in the few senior games he's played this year. It's up to him to push and cement his place in the squad."

Aside from Thompson, the squad is largely made up of experienced campaigners, which Simmons sees as a positive.

"That for me is the good thing,” he said. “Everybody has been there before and knows what's expected of them. It's good for the younger players who will learn how we do things and how we proceed at tournaments.

Ireland are in Group B of the competition. They will face West Indies on 19 September and West Indies on 24 September. Both games will take place in Colombo.

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (captain) (Warwickshire), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Trent Johnston (YMCA), Nigel Jones (CSN), Ed Joyce (Sussex), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Northants), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Stuart Thompson (Limavady), Andrew White (Instonians), Gary Wilson (Surrey).