Batsmen Hamish Marshall and Ed Joyce have been included in Ireland's 17-man squad for next month's tour of India.

Joyce, who last played for Ireland in 2005 before switching his allegiance to England, and former New Zealand international Marshall do not become available to represent Ireland in official one-day internationals until next April, although Cricket Ireland have requested special dispensation to include them in their squad for February's World Cup.

The India trip will feature four matches against invitational sides of first-class players from 1 to 22 November and coach Phil Simmons said: 'Although Ed and Hamish aren't officially available yet, I've taken the opportunity to bring them along.

'This is a great chance for them to meet the players and vice versa. They have proven quality, and will be a great addition to our playing strength.'

Alex Cusack returns from injury but Boyd Rankin and Regan West remain sidelined.

Simmons added: 'Everyone is aware of the need to impress at the World Cup, given the decision to have a 10-team tournament in 2015. It's vital we stay high in the world rankings, and continue to compete and indeed defeat full member countries.'

Ireland squad for November's Tour of India: William Porterfield (captain, Warwickshire), Andre Botha (North County), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Leinster), Allan Eastwood (Pembroke), Trent Johnston (Railway Union), Nigel Jones (CSN), Ed Joyce (Sussex), Hamish Marshall (Gloucestershire), John Mooney (North County), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Northamptonshire), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Albert van der Merwe (The Hills), Andrew White (Instonians), Gary Wilson (The Hills).