Boxer of the year Andrew Murray of Cavan won the Lightweight title at the National Senior Boxing Finals at the National Stadium in Dublin on Friday night. He defeated Garrett Dunne of Neilstown 27-5.

Paul Hyland of the Golden Cobra club in Tallaght beat Oughterard's Tomas Lee 13-8 to win the Flyweight title. The Middleweight trophy was won by the World Junior silver-medalist, Andy Lee of St Francis in Limerick. The 18 year old beat St Canices Eamon O'Kane by 27 points to 12.

Alan Reynolds of St Joseph's in Sligo won his 5th senior title, winning the Heavyweight final with a 32-10 win over Tomas Donnelly of Tyrone. The Light-Heavyweight title was won by Neilstown's Kenneth Egan, who beat Conal Carmichael of Holy Trinity 16-4.

Belfast's Paul Baker defeated 2-time champion John Paul Kinsella of Ballybrack by 20 points to 8 to win the Light-Flyweight title. The Featherweight title was retained by Stephen Ormond of Quarryvale, who saw off the challenge of Eamon Touhey of Moate by 26 points to 9.

Paul McCloskey of St Canices beat World Military Champion, Michael Kelly of Dealgan, 10-4 to claim the Light Welterweight Final. James Moore of Arklow succeeded in winning a hat trick of titles, beating Tomas Blaney of West Side in Tallaght on the 20-point-rule.

The Super-Heavyweight title went to Tomas Crampton of St Broughans in Offaly, who defeated Martin Rogan of Immaculata Belfast by 10 points to 9. Brain Gillen of Holy Trinity Belfast is the Bantamweight champion after beating Martin Lindsay of Immaculata Belfast 22-12.

Filed by Amanda Fennelly