Ireland 59-69 Luxembourg

Ireland were beaten 69-59 by Luxembourg in the final of the FIBA European Championship for Small Countries in Nicosia.

Dayna Finn top scored for Ireland with 17 points in Cyprus in a fine individual performance which also included seven blocks, two assists and one steal.

Ireland held an early 7-4 advantage after a Finn driving lay-up - she picked up seven points in total in the first quarter. Luxembourg took command after that in the opening quarter and raced into a 27-15 lead, with Nadia Mossong to the fore with an 11-point personal haul in the quarter.

Ireland reduced the arrears in the final minute of the quarter, thanks to a lovely three-pointer from Edel Thornton, followed by a lay-up by Aine O'Connor, which saw them trail 27-20.

That seemed to rejuvenate Ireland as they continued to fight their way back into the contest in the second quarter. A Finn three-pointer made it 32 points apiece with a little over five minutes gone in the quarter.

Ireland’s defence was far sharper in the second quarter, illustrated by a nice block by Claire Melia which sparked a quick counter finished off by Grainne Dwyer that moved Ireland into the lead, 36-34, with just over four minutes to go in the quarter. The sides traded points and went into the break level at 41-41.

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Ireland appeared set to continue their second quarter momentum into the third, a fadeaway jump shot by Fiona O’Dwyer and a Finn lay-up in the opening minute pushed them into a 45-41 lead. However, bar one Michelle Clarke free-throw midway through the quarter, Ireland failed to register any more points, as Luxembourg pulled away to lead 58-46 going into the final quarter.

Ireland continued to battle bravely and outscored their opponents 13-11 in the fourth quarter, but they couldn’t narrow the deficit any further.

Ireland: Michelle Clarke (1), Aine McKenna (DNP), Dayna Finn (17), Claire Rockall, Rachel Huijsdens (11) , Gráinne Dwyer (5), Edel Thornton (3), Fiona O’Dwyer (7), Claire Melia (7), Hannah Thornton, Sorcha Tiernan (6), Aine O’Connor (2).

Luxembourg: Lisa Brigitta Jablonowski (11), Magaly Meynadier (7), Nadia Mossong (12), Catherine Mreches (10), Michelle Orban (4), Svenia Nurenberg (3), Laure Marie Paule Diederich (DNP), Julija Vujakovic (7), Michelle Dittgen (DNP), Anne Simon (4), Estelle Marie Muller, Esmerelda Skrijelj (11).