Three new teams will play in the National Basketball league for the first time as Team Kerry, Drogheda Wolves and Malahide have all been ratified to join the Men's Division 1 ahead of the new season, which begins on 17/19 October. 

The Men's Super League will consist of two six-team conferences, while four teams in total have been added to Division 1, with Titans Basketball Club returning after a year's absence.

The Super League format will be implemented for the upcoming season only.

The Men’s National Competitions Committee (MNCC) has confirmed that defending Super League champions Belfast Star will be in the six-team North Conference, alongside five Dublin sides - Éanna, UCD Marian, Templeogue, Killester and DCU Saints.

Newly promoted Ballincollig will be in the South Conference, joined by local rivals Neptune, along with the Kerry duo of KCYMS and last season's Super League runners-up, Tralee Warriors. County Galway clubs Maree and Moycullen complete the set-up.

Three of the new teams will be in the eight-team Division 1 North Conference. Malahide, Titans and Drogheda Wolves will come up against Tolka Rovers, Dublin Lions, LYIT, Sligo All-Stars and Ulster University.

The Division 1 South Conference will comprise of two Killarney clubs, St Paul's and Team Kerry, two Limerick sides, Limerick Celtics and UL Eagles, along with Cork's Fr Mathews, WIT Waterford, Portlaoise Panthers and IT Carlow.

The fees for clubs competing in both divisions have been halved by the MNCC, to help clubs who are dealing with the fallout from Covid-19.

Chair of the MNCC, Bernard O’Byrne, said: "We are delighted to welcome four new teams to Division One. All four clubs made impressive presentations to the MNCC at the weekend and we’re looking forward to seeing them in National League action.

"We have decided to reduce the entrance fees for Super League and Division One, as we recognise what clubs are going through financially."

Fees for clubs compete in the Super League and Division One, will now be €250 for next season only. It has also been confirmed there will be no changes to the rules on overseas players, however, each club must strictly apply the Government’s Covid-19 regulations, when it comes to testing, isolation and all other guidelines.

All National League players will be required to complete a Covid-19 Compliance Form before being deemed eligible to play by the MNCC.