Thomas Barr has been named Athlete of the Year at the Irish Life Health National Athletics Awards.

The European 400m bronze medalist picked up the prize at a ceremony at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Blanchardstown.

His podium finish in Berlin during the summer was the high point in a great year for Irish athletics.

This also saw Barr, of the Ferrybank club in Waterford, collect Track and Field Athlete of the Year, holding off quality opposition in Phil Healy (Bandon) for her 200m record exploits at the Cork City Sports, European finalist Leon Reid (Menapians) and recently-crowned national cross-country champion Ciara Mageean (UCD)

Sommer Lecky was named Junior Athlete of Year; she soared to a sensational silver medal in the high jump with a national Under-20 record of 1.90m at the IAAF World U20 Athletics Championships in Finland.

The relay squad of Molly Scott, Gina Akpe-Moses, Ciara Neville, Patience Jumbo-Gula and Rhasidat Adeleke were named team of the year for their silver at the same championships.

Mary Purcell was inducted into the Hall of Fame for 2018. She was the dominant figure in women's athletics in Ireland throughout the 1970's.

Frank Greally, long-time editor of the Irish Runner magazine and a tireless advocate for Irish athletics, was given the Special Recognition Award for 2018.

Sommer Lecky in action

Irish Life Health National Athletics Awards
Hall of Fame: Mary Purcell
Lifetime Services to Athletics: Paddy Marley
Athlete of the Year: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank)
Endurance Athlete of the Year: Alex Wright (Leevale)
Under-20 Athlete of the Year: Sommer Lecky (Finn Valley)
Under-23 Athlete of the Year: Matthew Behan (Crusaders)
Track & Field Athlete of the Year: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank)
Performance Club of the Year: Clonliffe Harriers
Services to Coaching: Eamon Harvey
Official of the Year: Sean Callan
Team of the Year: Women’s Under-20 4x100m Relay Team
Inspirational Performance of the Year on Irish Soil: Phil Healy
Development Club of the Year: West Waterford AC
Mountain Runner of the Year: Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe Harriers)
Master Athlete of the Year: Joe Gough (West Waterford)
Ultra-Athlete of the Year: Aidan Hogan (Rising Sun)
Schools Athlete of the Year: Sarah Healy (Holy Child Killiney/Blackrock), Aaron Sexton (Bangor Grammar/North Down)
University Athlete of the Year: Elizabeth Morland (DCU/Cushinstown)
Special Recognition Award: Frank Greally