Clare man Sean Hehir has won the Men’s race in the Dublin marathon in a time of 2:18:19.

Joe Sweeney finished second at 2:19:26 and long-time Irish resident and Moldovan Sergio Ciobanu was third in 2:22:02.

Primary school teacher Hehir, aged 28, is the first Irish man in 20 years to win the marathon and the first Irish winner since Sonia O'Sullivan back in 2000.

Dublin’s Maria McCambridge won the Women's race in a time of 2:38:53.

Clare McCarthy was second and Pauline Curley third.