The legendary Kenenisa Bekele produced an awesome performance, despite gusting winds reaching 50 miles per hour, to comfortably defend his SPAR Great Ireland Run title in Dublin.

The Ethiopian, on a day definitely not favouring fast times, confidently coped with the conditions to win the 10km race in 28:51, well clear of Ukrainian Sergey Lebid and the winner's fellow countryman Ibrahim Jeilan who clocked 29:08 and 29:18 respectively.

Lauren Howarth, better known for her performances over shorter distances, claimed the women's crown in a much closer contest defeating fellow Britons, the defending champion Gemma Steel by 13sec, with a time of 33:36, and Julia Bleasdale who finished in 33:53.

In the men's race Stephen Scullion was the first Irishman to cross the line placing seventh in 30:15.

Linda Byrne was the host nation's leading woman finishing sixth in 34:24.

The meeting's inaugural street mile was claimed by Ireland's number one 1,500m track performer Paul Robinson.

Robinson took victory by two seconds in 4:14 ahead of fellow countrymen Eoin Everard and David Harper who recorded 4:18.

"It's fantastic," said Bekele determined to make amends for his drop in form over the last couple of years, mainly with a serious calf injury. "I am so happy with my performance.

"Now I am slowly, slowly, getting better. This year will be a great year for me. In all championships I will do better."

Howarth said: "I am really delighted to beat some big names out there.

"Conditions were pretty tough in the wind. Winning fills me confidence for the season ahead."

2013 Great Ireland Run results:

1 K Bekele (Ethiopia) 28:51
2 S Lebid (Ukraine) 29:08
3 I Jeilan (Ethiopia) 29:18
4 H Mouaziz (Belgium) 29:26
5 C Birmingham (Australia) 29:30
6 U Buta (Norway) 29:40
7 S Scullion (Ireland) 30:15
8 M Lunders (Belgium) 30:28
9 R Hoornweg (Netherlands) 30:39
10 M Penas (Spain) 30:45

1 L Howarth (GB) 33:36
2 G Steel (GB) 33:49
3 J Bleasdale (GB) 33:53
4 D Martin (Spain) 34:03
5 E Romagnolo (Italy) 34:19
6 L Byrne (Ireland) 34:24
7 E Baker (GB) 34:38
8 E Clayton (GB) 35:07
9 E Quaglia (Italy) 35:09
10 E Kelly (Ireland) 35:37

Men's street mile
1 P Robinson (Ireland) 4:14
2 E Everard (Ireland) 4:16
3 D Harper (Ireland) 4:18