The 30th edition of the Lifestyle Sports-adidas Dublin Marathon was won by Ethiopian Feyisa Lilesa in a time of 2.09.12, just five seconds shy of the course record.

In doing so, Lilesa became the first ever Ethiopian to have won the Dublin Marathon and set the second fastest ever time for the course.

Russian Alexsey Sokolov, who holds the course record for Dublin, set in 2007, finished second in a time of 2.10.38, with Kenyan Noah Serem third.

Last year’s winner, Ukranian Andriy Naumov, finished eighth.

Ukranian Kateryna Stetsenko took the women's title in a time of 2.32.45 after overtaking race leader Helalia Johannes of Namibia close to the finish. Last year’s winner Larissa Zousko finished fifth.

Moldovan Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe Harriers took the Men's Irish National Championship in a time of 2.22.06, some four minutes clear of veteran Irish runner Pauric McKinney of Letterkenny AC.

The race for first Irish woman home was always going to be a tight affair with close friends and running foes Annette Kealy and Pauline Curley both battling to be first over the finish line.

However, it was Kealy of Raheny Shamrocks who had the edge in the finish in a time of 2.45.43 followed by Tullamore Harriers runner Curley in 2.46.13.

Once the Elite runners were through, the attention was focused on the rest of the field, where there were some amazing scenes of exhaustion and elation.

Gerard Fay, who ran the course seven times before today, having started solo on Monday last, completed his eighth Dublin Marathon (his first official) today in a time of 6.06.22.

Cian O’Loinsigh, who ran blindfolded in aid of Fighting Blindness, led by his son Fionn, crossed the finish line in a time of 5.28.04.
Garret Doherty, who ran the 26.2 mile race backwards, finished in 5.28.33.

The current Rose of Tralee, Charmaine Kenny, ran in 4.15.10.
Former Sawdoctor Johnny Donnelly, who is on marathon 32 of his personal mission to complete 80 marathons in four years in aid of Irish Charity Seachange, came home in 3.14.18, followed by a large 'Run Johnny Run' contingent, including Today FM DJ Ray Darcy

29 runners completed their 30th consecutive Dublin Marathon, the only female - Mary Nolan Hickey - finished in 4.16.22, while the oldest, 74-year-old Paddy Craddock, finished in 6.39.31.

Martin Codyre, who is paralysed from the neck down, realised his dream of completing the Dublin Marathon, assisted by his brother Brian and friend Conor Galvin when he crossed the finish line in 4.48.13.

The wife and three children of the late David Kelly completed the final mile of the race (4.03.20), taking over from a group of friends who ran a mile each of the course in his honour. Kelly, from Galway, was due to take part himself but sadly passed away recently in a car accident.

This year's marathon is believed to be the biggest ever, with an estimated 12,700 runners taking part.

The full list of race finishers and their official times are available on the official Dublin City Marathon website.

Top 3 Men:
1 - Feyisa Lilesa, Ethiopia, 2.09.12
2 - Alexsey Sokolov, Russia, 2.10.38
3 - Noah Serem, Kenya, 2.11.14

Top 3 Women:
1 - Kateryna Stetsenko, Ukraine, 2.32.45
2 - Helalia Johannes, Namibia, 2.33.26
3 - Tiki Gelana, Ethiopia, 2.33.49

Top 3 Irish Men:
1 - Segiu Ciobanu, Clonliffe Harriers, 2.22.06
2 - Pauric McKinney, Letterkenny A.C., 2.26.21
3 - Owen Gahan, 2.28.16

Top 3 Irish Women:
1 - Annette Kealy, Raheny Shamrocks, 2.45.43
2 - Pauline Curley, Tullamore Harriers, 2.46.13
3 - Claire McCarthy, 2.48.58

RTÉ.ie is not responsible for the content of external websites.