Francis MacManus Short Story Thursday 15th October 2015

The Competition is closing for entries on Friday 7 May next. Due to the upcoming Bank Holiday weekend, the latest date for sending out printed application forms for postal entries is lunchtime on Friday 30 April. You can also download the application form here and post it with your entry, to be received by 7 May. Or you can submit your entry online through the link below, right up to the closing date.


Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

'Flame' by Fiona Gartland. Read by Andrew Bennett

Fiona Gartland

Fiona Gartland

Fiona Gartland was born in Dublin, where she lives with her husband and four children. She works as a journalist with The Irish Times and enjoys writing fiction in her spare time. She has had a small number of short stories published and this will be the fourth time she has a story shortlisted in the Francis MacManus competition.

About the Competition

A competition for original short stories for radio was first established in 1986 in memory of Francis MacManus (1909-1965), the Kilkenny-born novelist, biographer and former Head of Talks and Features at Radio Éireann. Since its establishment, the competition has been a launching pad for many writers who have gone on to receive national and international acclaim, including Claire Keegan, Molly McCloskey, Anthony Glavin, Danielle McLaughlin and Nuala Ní Chonchúir.

The winning and shortlisted short stories are produced for radio and voiced by some of Ireland's most talented actors of the stage and screen. In recent years these have included Peter Hanly, Ali White, Emmet Kirwan, Cathy Belton, Ingrid Craigie, Denis Conway, Andrew Bennett, Caitríona Ní Mhurchú, Kathy-Rose O'Brien, and many more. Listen to podcasts from past series here

Free to enter, the RTÉ Short Story Competition is open to anyone over 18 living on the island of Ireland, or living abroad who holds an Irish passport. Next year's competition will open for entries in spring 2021. 

The RTÉ Short Story Competition in honour of Francis MacManus is produced by Sarah Binchy. 



Contact the Show

Producer: Sarah Binchy

Broadcast Co-Ordinator: Carolyn Dempsey

Ways to Listen

Radio Player