A Status Yellow thunderstorm warning has been issued for today for 13 counties in Leinster, Ulster and Munster.

The alert is in place for Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Cavan, Donegal, Monaghan and Tipperary.

Met Éireann said that thundery showers, with hail and heavy downpours, will bring a risk of spot flooding.

The warning is in place until 8pm.