Ultan Courtney has been appointed as Chairperson of the Low Pay Commission, while the Government has announced five new members.

Michael Taft and Fionnuala Ni Bhrogain have been appointed to the Commission to represent the interests of employees; Dawn Wynne and Eugene McMahon have been appointed to represent employer interests; and Tim Callan will act as an independent member with expertise in labour market economics.

The new members will serve alongside three members of the Commission who were appointed in 2019 - Caroline Fahey, Sinead Mullins and Frank Walsh.

"As well as fulfilling its usual role in making recommendations to Government on the minimum wage, the Commission will be undertaking the really important work of developing a Living Wage for Ireland," said the Tánaiste and Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment, Leo Varadkar.

"The Commission is also carrying out an examination of the Universal Basic Income, with a view to a pilot being undertaken in the lifetime of the Government," he said.