Maeve Carton has today been named as the new chairperson of the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA) by the Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform.

Maeve Carton, who succeeds IAG chief executive Willie Walsh, will take up the job in January. 

She is a former director and board member of building materials group CRH, where she held a number of senior executive roles, including group finance director and group transformation director. 

Ms Carton has been a member of the NTMA Board since the board was established in 2014. 

Paschal Donohoe said that Maeve Carton will bring outstanding international financial and corporate governance expertise to the role at the NTMA. 

Minister Donohoe also thanked Willie Walsh for his exceptional contribution to the NTMA over the past five years both as chairperson of the agency and before that as chair of its advisory committee.  

"Over that time he oversaw important and far reaching changes in the agency's corporate governance and has ensured that it is well positioned to carry out the wide range of complex and challenging mandates it performs on behalf of the State," Mr Donohoe added.