Niall Cody has been announced as the next chairman of the Revenue Commissioners by Minister for Finance Michael Noonan.

He will replace Josephine Feehily, who announced her retirement in September, and is set to take up the role on 1 February 2015.

Mr Cody has worked at Revenue since 2012 and has held roles at the Collector General, Large Cases and tax policy divisions.

Mr Noonan wished him well in his new role and also paid tribute to Ms Feehily, who he said had “brought great leadership and integrity” to the office.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Ms Feehily for her service and wish her well in her retirement,” he said.