Derek Moran has been confirmed as the new secretary general at the Department of Finance.

He replaces John Moran in the role, following the announcement of his resignation in May, and will take up the position next week.

Derek Moran is currently an assistant secretary within the department and heads its Fiscal Policy Division.

He has served on a number of boards and committees relating to economic and tax policy and is chairman of the Tax Strategy Group and a Council Member of the Foundation for Fiscal Studies fiscal section.