Senior Department of Finance official Derek Moran has been selected to replace the outgoing secretary general John Moran.

Minister for Finance Michael Noonan will propose his name as the new head of the Department of Finance at a Cabinet meeting next week.

Derek Moran is currently assistant secretary within the Department and head of the fiscal section.

He replaces John Moran, who unexpectedly announced he would resign in May.

Derek Moran has previously worked on the EU Economic Policy and Tax Policy committees, as well as the National and Economic and Social Council and the National Statistic Board.