The European Parliament today approved Germany's Sabine Lautenschlaeger as a new member of the European Central Bank's Executive Board for a full eight-year term.
European Parliament members voted 443 to 47 in favour of Lautenschlaeger, 49, after a campaign in 2012 to appoint a woman to the all-male ECB board.
Lautenschlaeger will replace another German, Joerg Asmussen, who left the ECB two years into his eight-year term to rejoin the German government as state secretary in the labour ministry.
Lautenschlaeger, a Bundesbank vice president, struck a hawkish tone earlier this week warning about risks of low interest rates.