Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds have revealed details of forthcoming album Council Skies, which is released on 2 June.

According to a statement, the new album "sees Noel Gallagher reclaiming his past and paying homage to his Mancunian roots".

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Gallagher (55) has also released new single and music video Easy Now. The video features Milly Alcock, who recently starred as Princess Rhaenyra Targaryen in the HBO series House of the Dragon plus a cameo from Noel himself..

Council Skies was recorded at Noel’s own Lone Star Sound Recording Studios in London, the album features performances from Johnny Marr on three tracks, including recent single Pretty Boy.

The album takes its title from a book by northern illustrator and friend of Noel, artist Pete McKee.

Speaking about Council Skies, Noel says: "It’s going back to the beginning. Daydreaming, looking up at the sky and wondering about what life could be … that’s as true to me now as it was in the early '90s.

"When I was growing up in poverty and unemployment, music took me out of that," he added. "Top of the Pops on TV transformed your Thursday night into this fantasy world, and that’s what I think music should be. I want my music to be elevating and transforming in some way."

The artwork for the album sees Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds’ live equipment setup placed on the original centre spot of what was Maine Road Football Stadium, with this year marking 100 years since the ground was opened as the former home of Noel’s beloved Manchester City FC.

The new album follows 2021’s Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021), a Best Of album marking a decade of Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.

Deluxe limited-edition formats of the album will also be released, including a 3LP and 2CD featuring remixes by The Cure’s Robert Smith and Pet Shop Boys.

Council Skies tracklist: I'm Not Giving Up Tonight, Pretty Boy, Dead To The World, Open The Door, See What You Find, Trying To Find A World That's Been And Gone, Easy Now, Council Skies, There She Blows!, Love Is A Rich Man, Think Of A Number, bonus track - We’re Gonna Get There In The End.