Christy Moore has won a lifetime achievement award at the RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards.

Hosted by presenters John Creedon and Ruth Smith in front of a live audience in Dublin's Vicar Street, the awards celebrated the best in Irish folk music.

There were live performances from Kila, John Francis Flynn, Stephanie Makem, Allanah Thornburgh, John Spillane, Mick Flannery and Susan O'Neill, Christy Moore, and more.

Other winners include John Francis Flynn who was named best folk singer and best emerging artist and Ye Vagabonds scooped best folk group and traditional folk track.


The award was presented by Tom Mulligan from The Cobblestone in Dublin.

Sarah Makem was inducted into the RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards Hall of Fame.

Best folk instrumentalist was awarded to Caoimhin O’Fearghaill and best original folk track was Chain Reaction by Mick Flannery and Susan O’Neill.

The best traditional folk song was Ye Vagabonds’s I’m A Rover, while the best folk album was Solas an Lae by Eoghan O Ceannabháin and Ultan O’Brien.

Moore was presented his lifetime achievement award by singer Damien Dempsey.

A television highlights programme will be broadcast on RTÉ One on Saturday.