Fans of The Commitments, The Snapper and The Van are in for a treat this month when star Colm Meaney takes a trip down memory lane in a new RTÉ series celebrating author Roddy Doyle's Barrytown Trilogy.

The three-part Back to Barrytown begins on RTÉ One on Sunday, 16 May, with Meaney and his co-stars revisiting the fictional Dublin suburb in the company of author Doyle, The Snapper and The Van director Stephen Frears and many more. The Commitments director Alan Parker passed away last July.

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

In the series, Meaney "explores the world of Barrytown: the people who populated it, the real lives that inspired it, and those who helped create it. He peers through this fictional window into a brief moment in the history of modern Ireland: a time when the fortunes of the country and its citizens were changing utterly."

As part of the fun, RTÉ One will also screen The Commitments on Saturday, 22 May after the Eurovision Song Contest Final; and The Snapper on Saturday, 29 May at 9:30pm.

Click here for more television news.