U2's very first single on Island Records, 11 O’Clock Tick Tock, and Christy Moore’s 1972 album Prosperous are the latest Irish releases to be announced for Record Store Day Drop One, which takes places this year on August 29.

11 O’Clock Tick Tock will be reissued as a 40th anniversary limited edition 12", while Moore’s Prosperous is being repressed for the first time in nearly 40 years.

Donal Lunny, Andy Irvine, Liam O' Flynn, and Christy Moore

This year’s Record Store Day has had to be rethought due to the pandemic, and organisers are now holding three "RSD Drops" on August 29, September 26, and October 24.

As well as the Moore and U2 re-releases, Universal Music Ireland has also announced vinyl releases by Inhaler and The Academic.

Recorded with Joy Division producer Martin Hannett in Dublin’s Windmill Lane Studios in 1980, 11 O’Clock Tick Tock was U2’s first single release on Island Records.

The upcoming 40th-anniversary edition includes the full-length version of the song and the original 7" b-side Touch, plus two previously unreleased live recordings from the band’s show at the Marquee in London in September 1980 - Touch and Twilight.


The 12" EP will be pressed on 180gsm transparent blue vinyl and include a photo gallery on the inner gatefold.

As part of a re-issue programme following their acquisition of the Tara Music catalogue last year, Universal Music Ireland will release Moore’s seminal album Prosperous on limited edition 180gsm 12" blue vinyl.

Originally released in 1972, the classic folk record included Liam O' Flynn, Andy Irvine and Donal Lunny, who later went on to become the revered Planxty. Prosperous was named after the town and house in County Kildare, where it was recorded. 

The new edition has been remastered from the original master tapes with a limited run of 1000 hand-numbered copies available on August 29.

Click here for more music news