The nominees for the Mercury Prize for Album of the Year have been announced in London with Dua Lipa, Laura Marling and Stormzy among the 12 shortlisted acts.

Presenter Lauren Laverne shared the shortlist with her listeners on BBC Radio 6 Music on Thursday.

The nominees are:

Moses Boyd - Dark Matter

Georgia - Seeking Thrills

 Kano - Hoodies All Summer

Michael Kiwanuka - Kiwanuka

Lanterns on the Lake - Spook the Herd

Dua Lipa - Future Nostalgia

Laura Marling - Song for Our Daughter 

Anna Meredith - FIBS

Porridge Radio - Every Bad 

Sports Team - Deep Down Happy 

Stormzy - Heavy Is the Head

Charli XCX - How I'm Feeling Now

The winner will be announced on September 10.

Click here for more music news.