Folk act Lankum have won the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year for The Livelong Day.

The winning album was announced at a ceremony in Dublin's Vicar Street on Thursday night.

Lankum are on tour in the US, so the award was accepted on their behalf by their manager, Cian Lawless.

Cian Lawless with Lankum's award

"They have put so much effort into this, despite the financial hardship, despite the personal hardship," he told the crowd.

Lankum receive a cheque for €10,000 - a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) - and a specially-commissioned award.

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Previous Album of the Year winners, as chosen by a judging panel of journalists, broadcasters and other experts in the field, include Julie Feeney, The Divine Comedy, Jape, Delorentos, Villagers and SOAK.

Earlier on Thursday night, Westlife won the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Song of the Year, as voted for by the public, for their track Hello My Love.


Previous winners include Royseven, Gavin James, The Original Rudeboys, The Script, Picture This and Chasing Abbey.

The award was accepted on Westlife's behalf by Louis Walsh.

Louis Walsh in Vicar St Photo: Tony Kinlan

You can watch highlights from the show on RTÉ2 on Sunday, March 15 at 11:15pm.

The other Song of the Year nominees were:

Hozier - Almost (Sweet Music)

Dermot Kennedy - Outnumbered

Lankum - Wild Rover

Lyra - Falling

Mango X Mathman featuring Lisa Hannigan - Deep Blue

Róisín Murphy - Incapable

Picture This - One Night

Soulé feat. C Cane - Love Tonight

Wild Youth - Making Me Dance

The other nominees for Album of the Year were:
Daithí - L.O.S.S.

Junior Brother - Pull the Right Rope

Mick Flannery - Mick Flannery

Fontaines D.C. - Dogrel 

Sorcha Richardson - First Prize Bravery 

Girl Band - The Talkies

SOAK - Grim Town

Jafaris - Stride

Maija Sofia - Bath Time