Irish singer-songwriter Dermot Kennedy is one of ten acts on BBC Music's Sound of 2019 list - the annual countdown whose previous winners include Adele, Sam Smith, Ellie Goulding and Jessie J.

The Dubliner joins rapper Octavian, the group Sea Girls and MC Flohio on the list, which has been compiled by a panel of industry experts including grime star Stormzy, BBC Radio 1 and Other Voices presenter Annie Mac and Glastonbury Festival organiser Emily Eavis.

Grace Carter, King Princess, Mahalia, Ella Mai, Rosalia and SlowThai complete the list.

The countdown of the top five begins on Annie Mac's BBC Radio 1 show on Monday, January 7, with the Sound of 2019 winner announced on Friday, January 11.

James Stirling, Head of BBC Music and BBC Music Introducing, said: "For 17 years the BBC Music Sound of list has been celebrating exciting up-and-coming talent and this year we are proud to recognise the work of such an eclectic mix of musicians.

"There's a wealth of talent coming through and I look forward to seeing the artists build their reputations in 2019."

Click here for more music news.