It has been announced that broadcaster Pat Kenny is among the IMRO Radio Awards Hall of Fame inductees for 2018.

The Newstalk presenter is being added to the Hall of Fame alongside station director of FM104/Q102 Margaret Nelson, executive Willie O'Reilly and producer Ian Wilson.

The initiative recognises individuals working in the radio industry who have made a significant and valuable contribution over the course of their careers.

Ian Wilson joins his wife Áine Lawlor with the honour, making them the first couple to be in the Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame induction will take place on Tuesday September 25 at 12.30pm in the BAI Offices where the hall resides year-round.

Speaking about this year’s inductee’s, Tom McGuire, organising committee Chair, said: "With the IMRO Radio Awards Hall of Fame we want to celebrate the excellence that exists in Irish radio.

"As an industry we can be very proud of the impact and contribution all four of this year’s inductees have made, not just in radio but in the wider media world as well.

"They have made significant contributions to all levels of our industry from the local to national both in front of and behind the mics. We welcome Pat, Margaret, Willie and Ian into the Hall of Fame and salute their combined incredible achievements, congratulations."

Eleanor McEvoy, IMRO Chairperson, added: "It is said that radio is 'the theatre of the mind' and IMRO are once again delighted to be involved with the IMRO Radio Awards Hall of Fame.

"It gives us great pleasure to be inducting four of our most respected and revered radio professionals - Pat Kenny, Margaret Nelson, Willie O’Reilly and Ian Wilson into the Hall of Fame this year."