Camila Cabello and Childish Gambino were the big winners at the star-studded MTV Video Music Awards in New York on Monday night, with Cabello winning Artist and Video of the Year and Gambino winning Best Video with a Message.

Cabello was honoured for Video of the Year at Radio City Music Hall for her collaboration with Young Thug, Havana.

Gambino's This Is America was the as-predicted winner of Best Video with a Message. It also won the awards for Best Direction and Choreography. Gambino, the alter-ego of actor Donald Glover, was not at the ceremony.

The Song of the Year award was won by Post Malone and 21 Savage for Rockstar, with Cardi B, Bad Bunny & J Balvin sharing Song of the Summer for I Like It.

For more stars and glamour, click here to see our gallery.

Jennifer Lopez was honoured with the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard award and also won Best Collaboration with DJ Khaled and Cardi B for Dinero.

The award for Best Pop Video went to Ariana Grande for No Tears Left to Cry, and Nicki Minaj won Best Hip Hop Video for Chun Li.

The late Avicii was posthumously honoured with Best Dance Video for his collaboration with Rita Ora, Lonely Together. Imagine Dragons won Best Rock Video for Whatever It Takes.


The Winners in Full:

Video of the Year
Camila Cabello ft Young Thug - Havana

Best Video with a Message
Childish Gambino - This Is America

Best Collaboration
Jennifer Lopez ft DJ Khaled & Cardi B - Dinero 

Best New Artist
Cardi B

Artist of the Year
Camila Cabello

Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award
Jennifer Lopez

Best Rock Video
Imagine Dragons - Whatever It Takes

Best Dance Video
Avicii ft Rita Ora - Lonely Together

Best Latin Video
J Balvin, Willy William - Mi Gente

Song of the Year
Post Malone ft 21 Savage - Rockstar

Best Direction
Childish Gambino - This Is America, Directed by Hiro Murai

Best Art Direction
The Carters - APES**T, Art Direction by Jan Houlevigue

Best Visual Effects
Kendrick Lamar & SZA - All the Stars, Visual Effects by Loris Paillier for BUF Paris

Best Editing
N.E.R.D & Rihanna - Lemon, Editing by Taylor Ward

Best Cinematography
The Carters - APES**T, Cinematography by Benoit Debie

Best Choreography
Childish Gambino - This Is America, Choreography by Sherrie Silver

Best Pop Video
Ariana Grande - No Tears Left To Cry

Best Hip Hop Video
Nicki Minaj - Chun Li

Push Artist of the Year
Hayley Kiyoko

Song of the Summer
Cardi B, Bad Bunny & J Balvin - I Like It