Channel 4's Derry Girls has won the Radio Times Comedy Champion award after an "epic battle" with the BBC's Inside No 9

The entertainment website revealed that almost a million votes were cast in its poll, with the creators of both shows becoming involved in their respective campaigns.

Inside No 9 fought a tough campaign

Derry Girls took 50.1% of the vote (462,946 votes), with Inside No 9 pipped to the title with 49.9% (461,140 votes).

Ahead of the result, Inside No 9's co-creator Steve Pemberton tweeted: "No one deserves to lose - shall we call it a draw Girls?"

Derry Girls creator Lisa McGee replied: "We should have done that at the start. This is barbaric xx."

After voting closed at 10:00pm on July 31, McGee tweeted: "Thank you all so much for all your votes. A truly epic battle with the fantastic Inside Number 9. I'm sure everyone needs a lie down now." 

The stars of Derry Girls were also on their phones thanking fans: