TV3 police drama Red Rock leads the way in the nominations for tonight's IFTA Television Awards with eight nods.

The acclaimed series, which returned to screens last month in a new late evening slot, has been nominated in the Best Soap Category alongside Fair City and Ros na Rún and will be hoping to make it two wins in a row after it clinched the award last year.  

Sean Mahon, who played murdered cop and all-round bad egg Brian McGonigle and Patrick Ryan are in the running for Best Male Performance, while Andrea Irvine and Jane McGrath are nominated for Best Female Performance. 

Red Rock directors Diarmuid Goggins and Lisa Mulcahy are nominated for Best Director Soap/Comedy with Paul Walker also up for Best Writer Soap/Comedy.

Sean Mahon played Garda Brian McGonigle

RTÉ's hit comedy show Bridget and Eamon is recognised in four categories including Comedy, Female Performance for Jennifer Zamparelli and Writer Soap/Comedy for Zamparelli, director Jason Butler and co-star Bernard O'Shea.

The series was recently acquired by UKTV and will air on the comedy channel, Gold, for the first time this weekend.

Bridget and Eamon - Four nominations for the comedy

Mrs Brown's Boys may be the Best British Comedy of the Century but is it the Best Irish one? 

The popular comedy gets three nods, competing against Bridget and EamonAprès Match presents Election '82 and The Rubberbandits' Guide to 1916 in the Comedy Category, while its star Brendan O'Carroll is nominated for Male Performance and Writer - Soap/Comedy.

Mrs Brown's Boys gets three nods - including two for Brendan O'Carroll

The Reality category is sure to be hotly contested with hit series First Dates Ireland and Operation Transformation going up against Rugby's Wheelchair Challenge and Toughest Place to Be.

TV programmes commemorating the 1916 centenary are well represented in the nominations list, with The State Commemoration1916 The Irish RebellionCentenary, Children of the RevolutionThe Rubberbandits' Guide to 1916 and 1916 Challenge all nominated.

Comedy duo Rubberbandits nominated for The Rubberbandits' Guide to 1916

The Documentary Series category will see Crumlin and The Joy battling against the Liam Neeson-narrated documentary 1916 The Irish Rebellion and Bás Nó Saoirse.

The nominees in the Single Documentary category are Joe Duffy's Children of the Revolution, David McWilliams' Ireland's Great Wealth Divide, actor John Connors' I Am Traveller, I Am Immigrant and The Story of Yes, which marked the first anniversary of the marriage equality referendum.

John Connors' I Am Traveller is nominated in the best Single Documentary category

The IFTA Television Awards ceremony will take place tonight in Dublin and edited highlights will be broadcast on TV3.