Irish-Canadian author Emma Donoghue has been shortlisted for the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize for her novel The Wonder.

Donoghue, who received an Oscar nomination for her adaptation of her novel Room at this year's Academy Awards, has been shortlisted alongside five other Canadian authors for the prestigious prize.

The six titles were selected from a long list of 12 books, which had been whittled down from 161 entries.

The shortlist was announced at an industry event in the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto on Monday night.

The 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize will be announced on Monday, November 7.

Full shortlist:

Emma Donoghue – The Wonder

Mona Awad – 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

Catherine Leroux – The Party Wall

Madeleine Thein – Do Not Say We Have Nothing

Zoe Whittall – The Best Kind of People