Radical changes to the voting arrangements for this year's Eurovision Song Contest have been announced and under the new method of compiling votes, there may be less likelihood of acts ending up with the infamous nul points.

In previous years the results of the professional juries and viewers have been presented as a combined result, each accounting for 50 percent of the final score.

From 2016, the professional juries and tele-voters from each country will each award a separate set of points, which means the top 10 countries in both the jury and televote will receive points.

After viewers have cast their votes by telephone, SMS or using the official app, each national spokesperson from the 43 participating countries will be called in to present the points of their professional jury.

After the presentation of the scores from the juries, the televoting points from all participating countries will be combined, providing one score for each song. These televoting results will then be announced by the host, starting with the country receiving the fewest points from the public and ending with the country that received the highest number of points.

For those wanting to know how their country has voted, the televoting and jury scores from each participating country will be available online after the show.

Ireland's hopes rest with Nicky Byrne who will sing Ireland's entry, Sunlight. As reported previously, Ireland has received a favourable draw in the Song Contest's semi-final. Votes from the UK and Australia, two countries with a large Irish population, could boost Byrne's chances.

Nicky Byrne will sing Sunlight in the second semi-final, which will take place in Stockholm on Thursday May 12.