The BBC has pulled the plug on pop quiz panel show Never Mind the Buzzcocks after 20 years and 28 seasons.

The show, which has been presented by the likes of Mark Lamarr, Simon Amstell and, in its latest incarnation, Rhod Gilbert, has featured team captains including Phill Jupitus, Sean Hughes, Bill Bailey and Noel Fielding.

It will be remembered for the occasional explosive walkout including the Ordinary Boys' lead singer Preston, upset after Amstell read out extracts from his then wife, Chantelle Houghton's autobiography, and Fun Lovin’ Criminals frontman Huey Morgan, who smashed a mug.

BBC2 controller Kim Shillinglaw decided not to recommission the show to "create space for new entertainment formats".

Never Mind the Buzzcocks first aired on BBC2 in 1996, returning for nearly 270 episodes in all.

A BBC spokeswoman said: "After 28 series we’ve decided not to bring Never Mind the Buzzcocks back to the BBC. This will create space for new entertainment formats in the future.

"We'd like to thank the team at Talkback, Rhod Gilbert, all the brilliant hosts over the years and of course Noel and Phill for the years of enjoyment they've given BBC2 viewers."