Trad supergroup The Gloaming have won the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2014 for their acclaimed self-titled debut, with The Script winning the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year for their hit Superheroes.

Both winners were announced at a show in Dublin's Vicar Street on Thursday night. 

The Gloaming, who receive a cheque for €10,000 from the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) as part of their prize, are currently on tour in Australia.

The Script were at the ceremony to receive their award. 

Highlights of the show can be seen on RTÉ2 on Sunday March 8 at 10:50pm.

Read our review of The Gloaming's album here.