Tom Petty and the ELO's Jeff Lynne have been awarded Sam Smith royalties.

The pair – who worked together in The Travelling Wilburys - each received a 12.5% writing credit for Smith's breakthrough hit Stay With Me, due to the song's melodic similarities to Tom Petty's 1989 hit I Won't Back Down.

Although details have only just emerged, The Sun reports that the matter was settled out of court back in October 2014.

As well as the financial implications, Petty and Lynne have now been officially recognised as co-writers of Stay With Me, along with Smith, William Phillips and Jimmy Napes.

You can compare the two songs here: